top of page

My Bible Reading Plan

Updated: Aug 31, 2023



Disciplined and regular reading of the Bible is essential to all believers, from the new, born-again infant to the mature and steadfast in Christ. There are many Scriptures that testify to the importance of God’s word, I will list some verses below.

For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, so that through the perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. - Romans 15:4 LSB (echoed by 1 Corinthians 10:11)

… the sacred writings which are able to make you wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is God-breathed and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be equipped, having been thoroughly equipped for every good work. - from 2 Timothy 3:15-17 LSB

Jesus said to them, "Aren't you deceived for this reason, because you don't know the scriptures or the power of God? - Mark 12:24 NET

Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. - John 17:17 CSB

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her, so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she would be holy and blameless. - Ephesians 5:25-27 LSB

Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. - Ephesians 6:17 NIV

Every word of God is tested;

He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.

Do not add to His words

Lest He reprove you, and you be proved a liar. - Proverbs 30:6 LSB


If you weren’t already convinced, hopefully those Scriptures will help you understand the importance of disciplined Bible reading. In this article, I am going to tell you about my curren method of reading through the Scriptures, as well as some of the methods I’ve used in the past and be honest about why I never could do typical “Bible reading plans.” My current method (at the time of this post) is to read five chapters in the Old Testament (starting in Genesis), one chapter in Psalms, one chapter in Proverbs (after finishing Proverbs, sometimes I will cycle through Ecclesiastes and Song of Solomon before going back to Proverbs), and two chapters in the New Testament (starting in Matthew). Here it is again:

  • 5 chapters in the Old Testament

  • 1 chapter in Psalms

  • 1 chapter in Proverbs (cycling in Ecclesiastes)

  • 2 chapters in the New Testament


It typically takes me less than one hour to read the nine chapters listed above, honestly, it’s probably closer to around 30 minutes of actual reading time. This current reading plan works out very well for me, I am able to get a decent amount read without feeling like I have so much to read that I’m rushing through my reading time. My previous reading regimen was a bit more intense, being ten chapters in the Old Testament, one Psalm, one Proverb, and one in the New Testament.

When I get to the end of a book and the chapters remaining are less than five, I either go ahead and finish it that day if things are going well and I have time or I save them for the next day and finish my reading a little quicker the next day, the same applies to my reading in the New Testament. This reading plan is flexible. I also want to mention my very first reading plan. My first reading plan was to read one chapter every day, no matter what. That may sound easy, but to someone who was very undisciplined and young in my faith, it was incredibly challenging to hold to. However, because my goal was so manageable, even my undisciplined self was able to take those little steps, one chapter at a time, to grow in my knowledge of His word and in discipline. In doing so, I read the Bible cover to cover for the very first time and it had an incredible influence on my faith. It was hard, I read things that I had never heard of, and I questioned God’s ways and judgements, but in my questions, I prayed for understanding and kept reading. In doing so, God answered my questions (in His own timing) and taught me so much. If you lack discipline, the chapter a day reading plan may be just what you need to grow your knowledge of His word and your own self-discipline. If you faithfully read just one chapter a day, you too will read through the entire Bible in time.

Here I will mention why I never could do Bible reading plans (this is also the same reason that I can’t stand the thought of a 365-day devotional). If you miss a day (or many days), you get “behind” and the weight of being behind drives me to discouragement, which finds excuses of why it’s not worth the effort to “catch up.” Specific readings plans, feel overwhelming to me. With my current reading plan of so many chapters in so many places, it’s orderly: I know exactly where I’m going to read and how much, I don’t need any additional paper or chart to keep track of where I am (aside from a bookmark of course, those are quite helpful). Another benefit of my reading plan is that you read the Bible fairly chronologically and in context.

I read somewhere once and it truly stuck in my mind that if you read four chapters a day, you will read through the entire Bible in a year even if you miss 67 days of reading. Specifically, by reading four chapters a day you could read the Bible in 298 days.

You don’t have to use my reading plan to be successfully disciplined in reading His word. You don’t have to follow my method to read the Bible cover to cover, but because I know this method has helped me successfully read through the Bible many times now (with adjustments along the way), I wanted to share it with you. My desire is for God’s daughters, my sisters in Christ, to know, love, and be faithful to the word of God, for their good and for His glory.


Sister, read your Bible.

40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page