top of page

Through Him who strengthens me.






One of the most popular Scriptures to be misused and taken out of context is Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” It is easy to see why this verse is a frequent one to be taken out of context because of how it appeals to our selfish and sinful nature, “I can do all things,” which is then followed with, “through Him who strengthens me.” A selfish heart will take this verse as an empowering blessing that she can do or achieve all things that she is sure are such great plans and ideas and that God Himself will empower her to do so. Let’s read Philippians 4:13 in context.


Not that I speak from want, for I learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in abundance; in any and all things I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. - Philippians 4:11-13 LSB


I don’t think I have ever heard anyone quote this verse correctly. I’ve never heard someone say, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me,” and for them to have been referring to being content in difficult circumstances. But, that is what Paul meant, when he wrote these words. Can you imagine how powerful these words are? What a supernatural gift it is that God can strengthen us and empower us to be content in all circumstances. Is that not part of the major focus of Paul’s letter to the church of the Philippians?

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and petition with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. - Philippians 4:6-7 LSB


Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice! - Philippians 4:4 NKJV

But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss because of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ – Philippians 3:7-8


Do nothing out of selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility consider others as more important than yourselves. - Philippians 2:3 CSB


For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain. - Philippians 1:21 NASB20


I imagine that all of us have desires, things that we want for a variety of reasons, I know that I do. I have things that my heart desires and I have made these requests known before God with the added note of, “Lord, if it is not Your will, please help me to have peace and contentment where I am.” It doesn’t matter how seemingly “good” our wants and desires are, God’s ways and thoughts are higher and greater than our own (Isaiah 55:7-9). We must surrender all things to His will and strive to have humility, contentment, peace, and rejoicing in our submission to Him.


Philippians 4:13 is a beautiful verse, it is an amazing testimony to what God is capable of doing in us, and for those who are able to live out this verse, being content in all circumstances, they will glorify God in doing so.




12 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page