top of page

A Letter To Anxiety

Updated: Feb 6, 2022




Anxiety,

You’ve stopped by unannounced and uninvited a couple of times recently. I know that it’s been a while since you left, and you really want to stick around but… you’re not welcome here. To be honest, you’re not good for me, my marriage, my parenting, my friendships, or anything else in my life. When I look back on your time in my life, I can clearly see the times where you lied to me, tried to control me, and took away my peace. Not only did you do those things, but you’re never satisfied. Nothing is ever enough for you.

In addition to the burden that you are to keep around, you never do anything good, you never lift a finger to help out with the stress that you bring. You offer no comfort, hope, gentleness, wisdom, perspective, or truth. In all honesty, even if I am going to go through the worst-case-scenario in the near future, I’d much rather do it without you. I certainly won’t benefit now or then by having you around, so why should I let you stay? I don’t need you.

In fact, I might as well break it to you now. You know my sisters in Christ? They don’t want or need you around either. You really shouldn’t even bother stopping by to see them; it’ll just be a waste of your time and, more importantly, it’ll be a waste of theirs. I’m going to be honest. it feels good to write you this letter. It feels good to take a moment and put into words who you are, what you do, and why I don’t need you around.

I know that I put your name at the top of this letter, but in reality, this letter is for me and my sisters in Christ. This letter isn’t about you. We are all better off without you. Our mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being benefits from your absence in our lives. Anxiety, you are worthless, but we have meaning and purpose. God has a plan for us, and you’re nothing but a hindrance and distraction to that plan.

I’m trying to think of something nice to say about you, but I honestly can’t come up with anything. So, instead, I’ll write something for the rest us.

Peace I leave with you. My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Don’t let your heart be troubled or fearful (John 14:27, CSB).

Above all, put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. And let the peace of Christ, to which you were also called in one body, rule your hearts. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell richly among you, in all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another through psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts (Colossians 3:14-16, CSB).

There is no fear in love; instead, perfect love drives out fear, because fear involves punishment. So the one who fears is not complete in love (1 John 4:18, CSB).

Sincerely no longer yours,

Jenny

19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page