top of page

Called to Shepherd: Are You Raising Fox Chasers?



So, we had some excitement here recently. Here’s what happened…

I was trying to sleep in this morning. Everyone in the house was sleeping (or in my case, trying to sleep) except for my little Elsie. She’s awake and has made this known by talking under our bedroom door. I figured that she could entertain herself without causing much trouble and that I could sleep a little longer. Then I hear the chickens making one of their “concerned” sounds. For a moment, I think… 'Should I get up and look out the window? But I’m tired, they’re probably fine.' Then I hear Elsie burst out of the kitchen door, running down the porch, and shouting loudly as her tiny self goes into the backyard like a feisty little girl she is! I rush over to open a blind so I can see out the window and she is boldly chasing away a fox!

I throw on some clothes and run outside to reinforce her if need be and she’s walking back to me with a big smile on her face and says, “I scared away the fox!” I picked her up, gave her a big hug, and said, “Yes, you did!” While holding her I walk to look in the woods and see if the fox is really gone (for the time being) or if he’s just hiding behind the storage building. Mr. Fox is nowhere to be seen.

I’ve always known that my little Elsie is bold, but this is one of the first times I’ve really been able to see her use it in action. So, whatever you are up against today, I hope you’re encouraged to face it boldly and head-on if you know that God is with you. Why should you be afraid? Why should you be intimidated? Why should you be discouraged? Keep the eyes of your heart and mind focused on the living God and all the foxes and giants you come across will simply be moments where your courage can shine amongst cowardice, faith can be boldly lived amidst disbelief, and selflessness is glorified while surrounded by the selfish. May we do it all so that God will be glorified on this day and on every day to come.

I’ve been thinking about this incident on and off since it happened. Elsie is my smallest and youngest daughter. She is currently five years old and only a couple inches taller than her three-year-old brother. She has always been small and by small, I mean has been under the 1 percentile for the majority of her little life.

I have never told my five-year-old to go outside to chase away a fox; I did not have to. She has seen me quickly run outside many times to protect our chickens from a variety of threats including raccoons, opossum (he turned out to be innocent of ill intent, he just comes for the leftover cat food), foxes, dogs, and hawks. Our chickens are our pets and a source of fresh eggs, it is our responsibility to protect them, but I don’t protect them out of any sense of “duty” I do it because I care about them.

Be on guard for yourselves and for all the flock of which the Holy Spirit has appointed you as overseers, to shepherd the church of God, which he purchased with his own blood. – Acts 20:28 CSB

Shepherd God’s flock among you, not overseeing out of compulsion but willingly, as God would have you; not out of greed for money but eagerly; not lording it over those entrusted to you but being examples to the flock. (Emphasis mine) And when the chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the unfading crown of glory. – 1 Peter 5:2-4 CSB

I am not a pastor, but did you know that the word translated as pastor is poimaínō and the outline of its biblical usage is:

to feed, to tend a flock, keep sheep

to rule, govern

to furnish pasture for food

to nourish

to cherish one’s body, to serve the body

to supply the requisites for the soul’s need

It means: to shepherd.

In the same way, older women are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not slaves to excessive drinking. They are to teach what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands and to love their children, to be self-controlled, pure, workers at home, kind, and in submission to their husbands, so that God’s word will not be slandered. – Titus 2:3-5 CSB

Isn’t the call of every believer to invest in the kingdom by investing in younger believers? Isn’t it every single believer’s responsibility to strengthen and build up the body of Christ? Are you shepherding those who have been entrusted to your care? Are you setting a godly example of standing firm in the truth when it’s hard? Are you setting an example worth following? False teachings don’t come up to the flock with their teeth bared. Literally, just a few weeks ago the fox was sitting calmly in the yard as he looked at the chickens (undoubtedly trying to decide which one might make the easiest meal, predators are intelligent) and my chickens were all only mildly concerned, as was the cat. They saw the fox and felt initial concern but because the fox was not in an aggressive stance, they mistakenly thought there might not be any danger after all. People are often just as gullible, as much as that hurts our pride, we know it’s true.

Are you equipping your children or the people you mentor with the knowledge of the truth so they can recognize a fox, coyote, or wolf from a livestock guardian dog? I'm speaking metaphorically of course but people distorting spiritual truth is no laughing matter. False teachings are no minor threat. But do not take my word for it…

And whoever welcomes one child like this in my name welcomes me. But whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in me to fall away — it would be better for him if a heavy millstone were hung around his neck and he were drowned in the depths of the sea. – Matthew 18:5-6 CSB


Jesus is saying that it’s more desirable for someone to experience death by drowning having been thrown into the depths of the sea with a heavy millstone around his neck than it is for someone to suffer the punishment that awaits those who cause a child, a little one who believes in Him to fall away. How well are we protecting our children and those who are young in the faith? Are we sufficiently preparing those under our influence to chase off the foxes that threaten their own faith or the faith of others? There are no fox-inoculations, this is going to have to be a lived-out learning experience.

Catch the foxes for us — the little foxes that ruin the vineyards — for our vineyards are in bloom. – Song of Songs 2:15 CSB

While the context isn’t referring to the topic at hand if you metaphorically consider someone’s faith to be their vineyard, the metaphor holds.

“Pay attention to the ministry you have received in the Lord, so that you can accomplish it.” – Colossians 4:17 CSB

Pay close attention to your life and your teaching; persevere in these things, for in doing this you will save both yourself and your hearers. – 1 Timothy 4:16 CSB

A person should think of us in this way: as servants of Christ and managers of the mysteries of God. In this regard, it is required that managers be found faithful. – 1 Corinthians 4:1-2 CSB

5 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page